I’ve Turned Away

One of my goals lately has been to put myself out there a bit more lately with my creative pursuits.  In light of that, I’ve decided that I *may* start sharing more music on my blog!  Back in March I was home with a scratchy throat, but had the itch to do some songwriting. I whipped out my ukulele and wrote this little song, “I’ve Turned Away.”

Now, the fact that I’m sharing this and 1.) my voice was not up to par and 2.) I don’t necessarily feel like the song is finished and 3.) this is literally the one-take recording I did of it, on my cell phone, and so I’m totally self-conscious about it… should show you just how willing I am to put myself out there with this!

This song was written as I reflected on how sometimes it seems like my relationship with God can become very one-sided when things are going well in life.  God is still there, calling my name, and yet I turn away and do my own thing…. because when life is going well, doesn’t it feel like WE have it under control?  And yet when life shakes you up a bit, it’s then that you suddenly need God.  I was feeling particularly sorrowful about this, knowing it’s been a pattern in my own life and in so many others, and that is what inspired this song.

Hopefully this won’t be the last time I share some music with you, but for now have a listen to my folksy, bluesy lament, “I’ve Turned Away”…

 

“I’ve Turned Away”
(c) 2016 Megan Sauder

LYRICS:
You’re calling my name
In the midst of the night
Oh I long to embrace
The words that you say
Ohhh

It’s been twenty-nine years
With you by my side, ohhh
And you’d think that by now
I’d made up my mind

To stick with you
Oh, to love you
Oh, to run away with you
Every night

But I turn back
Only when nighttime falls
But when daylight breaks
I go on alone
Ohhh

About Megan Sauder

A musician with a passion for creativity, adventure, traveling, and cherishing even the simplest of moments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

